Saturday, 8 December 2012

5 Breaking Albums Of 2012

It’s been a great year for Nigerian Music; we have witnessed events, tours, awards and even controversies. We have also witnessed the emergence of new artistes some of who gave us really great albums during the year, in addition to the ones delivered by the regular celebrities.

Last year, Ice-Prince and Wizkid ruled supreme, this year, the competition got stiffer and as a result, we have compiled a list of the Top 5 albums that rocked this year below. Be sure to use the comment box to share your view, we will like to hear from you.

Davido – Omo Baba Olowo: The Genesis
Album: Omo Baba Olowo: The Genesis
Artiste: Davido
Producers: Shizzi, Jay Sleek, Maleek Berry, Gospel, Spellz, Dokta Frabz, Davido and Theory Soundz
Features: Naeto C, B-Red, Sina Rambo, May D, 2Face Idibia, Kay Switch and Ice Prince
Label: HKN Music (2012)

One of the most anticipated album of the year as the artiste, Davido consistently dropped hit songs through the year, Just Like wizkid did last year. Moreover, Davido kept getting into the news (both for good and bad reasons), all this aided the anticipation and the success of his album.

Olamide – YBNL

Album: YBNL
Artiste: Olamide
Features: Buckwylla, Davido, Minus 2, Dammy Krane, Kay Switch, Aduke, Kidakudz, Tiwa Savage, Base One and Reminisce
Producers: I.D Cabasa, Tryone, Pheelz, Samklef and 2 Kriss
Record Label: YBNL Nation/1805 Entertainment
Running Time: 1 Hour, 19 minutes, 38 seconds

YBNL is a confident album with a lot of presence. Olamide stakes his claim in Nigeria’s Hip Hop scene, which normally pushes native tongue rappers down the ladder. It is the proud work of a rapper who has emerged from the shadows of a hit making producer and a late Nigerian rap legend to stand in the spotlight and boldly show us what Nigerian rap has been missing for a while- the heartbeat of the streets. The album cover signifies what Olamide is all about presently – a shiny symbol from the dark streets representing struggles, triumph, victory and hope.

D’Prince – Frenzy
Album: Frenzy
Artiste: D’Prince
Features: Don Jazzy, Wande Coal, Wizkid, Tiwa Savage, Dr. Sid, Timaya, Bracket, M.I & Yung Breed
Producers: Don Jazzy, Baby Fresh, Altims Beats, Aone Beats, Spellz and Josh Beatz
Record Label: Mavin Records
Running Time: 1 hour, 18 minutes, 55 seconds

With songs like Take Banana, Goody Bag, amongst others, Frenzy did live up to its name. D’Prince has waited patiently after years of releasing smashing singles, (Despite the lack of the wow-factor). D’Prince’s greatest calling card as an artiste is his unique ability to turn the nonsensical into party music. He does this well on ‘Call Police’- a track about the recreational use of weed on the dance floor. You don’t pause to ponder when he sings “Smoke Igbo, Call MOPOL and “Wheel barrow”. You are lost in the frenzy!

EME Crew – Empire State Of Mind
Album: Empire State Of Mind
Artiste: EME Crew
Features: Banky W, Shaydee Wizkid, Skales, Niyola
Producers: Sarz, Mastercraft, Legendary Beats, Spellz, KidConnect
Record Label: Empire Mates Entertainment

Although one directional, the Empire Mates State of Mind album could serve as the playlist of a wild house party. Just hook your laptop to some mean speakers or earphones, hit play and turn up the volume. With a crew made up of sure hit-makers such as Banky W and Wizkid, the experienced Niyola, the rapper/singer Skales and the freshness of Shaydee Boi, this EME album is a sure club banger!

Mavin Crew – Solar Plexus
Album: Solar Plexus
Artiste: Mavin Crew
Features: Don Jazzy, Wande Coal, D’Prince, Dr. Sid, Tiwa Savage
Producer: Don Jazzy
Record Label: Mavin Records

Following the disbandment of the Mo’Hit Crew, Mavin Records emerged as a brain child of the legendary producer Don Jazzy. This was not the best of Don Jazzy’s works but due to the brand and the controversies that surrounded the crew at the time the album was released, it became huge...

No comments: